1. Education

Afrique Équatoriale Française



Afrique Équatoriale Française (AEF, French Equatorial Africa) was the federation of four French colonial territories in Africa., The federation lasted from June 1908 until the territories were given independence in 1960.

Oubangui-Chari (Ubangi-Shari) to which Tchad (Chad) had been joined, became the Central African Republic. Moyen-Congo (Middle Congo), an amalgamation of Congo Français ('French Congo') and Gabon, became the Republic of Congo and Republic of Gabon respectively.

  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. African History
  4. African History Glossary
  5. Glossary A
  6. Afrique Équatoriale Française

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.