1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Leaders of Côte d'Ivoire Since Independence

A list of the Côte d'Ivoire leaders since gaining independence on 7 August 1960

Nationalist leader Félix Houphouët-Boigny became first president of Côte d'Ivoire on 7 August 1960 (he had been prime minister since 1 May 1959). He ruled for 33 years, all but the last three as the leader of a one-party state. By the time Houphouët-Boigny fell ill Côte d'Ivoire was experiencing severe economic troubles. A replacement leader, hoping to hold on to Houphouët-Boigny's legacy was installed. Henri Konan Bédié, made it through the next presidential election by banning several opposition parties. But in 1999 he was overthrown by a military coup.

The new military leader, General Robert Guéi, arranged general elections for the following year, but banned his main opposition, Alassane Ouattara (PDCI-RDA), from taking part. In the end it was Laurent Gbagbo (FPI) who won the election.

A military mutiny in 2002 plunged the country into civil strife, splitting the country north and south. Presidnet Laurent Gbagbo represented the Christian/animist south, whilst the Muslim north is represented by the Guillaume Kigbafori Soro (FN).

Alassane Dramane Ouattara was accepted internationally as the winner of presidential elections in November 2010, and acknowledged as president in December by all but the incumbent, Laurent Gbagbo, and his followers. It took until April 2011 before Gbagbo was captured by Quattara's militia, with the aid of French troops. Gbagbo was then transferred to the International Criminal Court in the Hague for crimes against humanity.

President of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire
7 Aug 1960 - 7 Dec 1993 Félix Houphouët-Boigny PDCI-RDA
7 Dec 1993 - 25 Dec 1999 Henri Konan Bédié PDCI-RDA
25 Dec 1999 - 25 Oct 2000 Robert Guéi Military
26 Oct 2000 - 11 April 2011 Laurent Gbagbo FPI
4 December 2010 - Present Day Alassane Dramane Ouattara RDR

Key to Political Parties
PDCI-RDA Parti Démocratique de la Côte d'Ivoire - Rassemblement Démocratique Africain
(Democratic Party of Côte d'Ivoire - African Democratic Rally)
FPI Front Populaire Ivoirien
(Ivorian Popular Front)
FN Forces Nouvelles de Côte d'Ivoire
(Côte d'Ivoire New Forces)
RDR Rassemblement des Républicains
(Rally of the Republicans)

More on the History of Côte d'Ivoire
A Very Short History of Côte d'Ivoire
Côte d'Ivoire Timeline

Important People from Côte d'Ivoire's History
Félix Houphouët-Boigny

©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.