1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Timeline of Apartheid History

Key Events in Apartheid from 1912 to 1959

1910 Union of South Africa
1912 Formation of the South African Native National Congress (SANNC)
1913 Black (or Natives) Land Act No. 27 of 1913
1914 Formation of (Afrikaner) National Party
1923 SANNC changes its name to African National Congress (ANC)
Native (Black) Urban Areas Act No 21 of 1923
1936 Representation of Blacks Act No 12 of 1936
1939 Formation of the Ossewabrandwag
1940 Hertzog and Malan form the Herenigde Nasionale Party (HNP, Reunited National Party)
1944 ANC Youth League formed
1946 Smuts sets up the Fagan Commission
1948 Fagan Commission makes its report recommending the relaxation of segregation laws
Sauer Commission makes its report recommending implementation of Apartheid
HNP wins general election on Apartheid platform (by majority of parliamentary seats, not on overall votes)
1949 Prohibition of Mixed Marriages Act No 55 of 1949
1950 Population Registration Act No 30 of 1950
Group Areas Act No 41 of 1950
Suppression of Communism Act, Act No 44 of 1950
1951 Separate Representation of Voters Act No 46 of 1951
Black (Bantu) Authorities Act No 68 of 1951
1952 Defiance Campaign starts
Blacks (Abolition of Passes and Co-ordination of Documents) Act No 67 of 1952
1953 Bantu Education Act No 47 of 1953
Reservation of Separate Amenities Act No 49 of 1953
1954 Federation of South African Women formed
1955 Forced removal of Blacks from Sophiatown (9 February)
Congress of the People adopts the Freedom Charter (June)
1956 Treason Trial begins
Separate Representation of Voters Amendment Act No 30 of 1956
1958 NP wins 103 out of 163 seats in parliament in general election (August)
1959 Pan African Congress (PAC) formed
Promotion of Bantu Self-Government Act No 46 of 1959

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.