1. Education

9 December 1961 – Tanzania Achieves Independence

By December 9, 2013

Follow me on:

Map showing position of Tanzania in AfricaThe mainland of Tanzania became a German colony called Tanganyika in 1884 whilst the Sultanate of Zanzibar became a British Protectorate in 1890. Tanganyika became a British mandated territory in 1918 and achieved independence in 1961. In 1963 Zanzibar achieved independence, and a year later formed a union with Tanganyika under the new name of Tanzania.

Find Out More About the History of Tanzania:
Timeline of Key Events in Tanzania's History
Tanzania History Resources


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.