1. Education

This Day in African History - Former German Colonies in Africa Awarded as Mandates

By July 20, 2013

Follow me on:

The League of Nations agreed on 20 July 1920 to award former German colonies (lost as a result of World War I) as mandates. Tanganyika (which formed the greater part of the German colony Deutsche Ostafrika) was awarded to Britain (became Tanzania in 1961), the greater part of the colony of Togo went to France (became Togo in 1960), and the lesser part of Togo went as Togoland to the British (became part of Ghana in 1957). The German colony of Kamerun was divided between the French as Cameroun (became Cameroon in 1960) and the British as British Cameroon North (became Nigeria in 1961) and British Cameroon South (joined with Cameroon in 1961).


July 23, 2008 at 10:31 pm
(1) Thales says:

And about German Sudwest Afrika?

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.